Bill would add Nevada judicial district

(AP) - Churchill and Lyon counties would have their own judicial districts in Nevada under a bill to be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee.

SB94 creates the 10th Judicial District, which would encompass Churchill County. Currently, Churchill and Lyon counties are combined as the Third Judicial District, with three judges.

Under the proposed alignment, Churchill County would have one district judge. Lyon would have two.

Officials say the move would save about $25,000 a year because it would eliminate travel, duplication of services and other costs.

The bill is sponsored by Republican Senate Minority Leader Mike McGinness of Fallon.

The measure is scheduled for consideration by the panel on Wednesday.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment