Title chases resume at Rattlesnake

With three races remaining before the Dirt Track Championships, Scott Tenney is in the driver’s seat for the Hobby Stock points title.

Tenney leads Chris Christiano, 411-373, after a third-place showing in the main event on Aug. 9 at Rattlesnake Raceway. The action resumes at 6 p.m. Saturday.

Although Christiano faces a steep climb for the No. 1 position, he is also six points in front of Shane Cazel in the battle for second place.

Cazel is coming off an eighth-place finish on Aug. 9, while Chrisitano was seventh and Tenney third.

Tenney jumped out the early points lead with three consecutive wins in the main event and two wins in the preliminary heats.

In the Gen-X division, Randy Durst is coming off a sweep with a pair of wins in the preliminary heat and main event two weeks ago. Darren Albury, who made his first start of the season at Rattlesnake, took second in both races, while points leader Christy Rasmussen also added a preliminary win and third-place finish in the main event.

She currently holds a 10-point lead over Jeremy Christen, who did not start in the Aug. 9 prelim, but placed fourth in the main event. Lee Ketten Jr. is in third place with 228 points.

Robert Mull, however, owns cushy 98-point lead for the IMCA division championship as he added a third- and fourth-place finish in the preliminary and main events, respectively, in the last race.

Fred White, meanwhile, earned his first win of the season in the IMCA class. White was also victorious in the preliminary heat, followed by David Ausano, who placed second in both races.

Following Mull in the points standings are Travis White (304), Fred White (258) and Ausano (216).

In the IMCA northern sport modifieds class, Zachary Cail also owns a 98-point lead. He leads Pete Olsen, 391-293.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment