Barbara Cegavske wins Nevada secretary of state race

RENO — Longtime Republican state lawmaker Barbara Cegavske has defeated Democrat Kate Marshall to become Nevada’s next secretary of state.

The state senator from Las Vegas was among a host of candidates Republicans were hoping would benefit from Gov. Brian Sandoval’s coattails in his landslide re-election Tuesday night. She served six years in the Assembly and the last 12 in the Senate.

Marshall is a former Nevada deputy attorney general who is finishing up her second term as state treasurer.

Both candidates were termed out of their current jobs.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment