Ford new leader of Senate Democrats

Aaron Ford, D-Las Vegas, will replace Mo Denis as leader of the Democratic caucus in the Nevada Senate.

Ford said Sen. Debbie Smith of Sparks is going to return as assistant leader of the caucus, which is now the minority block in the Senate.

Republicans took one seat from the Democrats in this election and now control the body 11-10.

Ford said Sens. Kelvin Atkinson and Ruben Kihuen, both of Las Vegas, will be whips on his leadership team.

Republicans have already named Michael Roberson of Las Vegas as Majority Leader and Ben Kieckhefer, who represents south Reno and Carson City, as assistant.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment